How to Customize the Booking Details on the Calendar

  • Updated

The Calendar is a great tool to manage your bookings. You can customize the details on the calendar for rentals to help you quickly see the booking information you need without having to open the booking.

Calendar Templates - Updated.png

 

The calendar shows booking information in two different ways. The first one is called the Calendar Entry and this is what you see when you look at the calendar. By default, the Calendar Entry shows the product name, the booking code and the customer name as shown below.

Calendar Entry.png

Calendar Entry

The second way is called the Calendar Popup This is what you see when you place (aka “hover”) the mouse over the Calendar Entry. By default, the Calendar Popup text shows the product, booking code, customer name, phone, start and end date and time, total amount and balance.

Calendar Popup.png

Calendar Popup

Both the Calendar Entry and Calendar Popup can be customized. Since the Calendar Entry is limited in space, you will typically only show the most important information here. The Calendar Popup has more space and you can use it to show all the information that you would like to see, but without having to open the booking.

How to customize the Calendar Entry or Calendar Popup

The Calendar Entry and the Calendar Popup can be customized using variables.

Variables are unique codes that can be used to pull details of an order when showing the calendar. Variables always start with the ${ and end with }. These are important as it is how the system knows which detail to add to the Calendar Entry or Calendar Popup.

For example, the variable for customer name is 

${customer.name}

The variable for order code is 

${order.ordercode}

As an example, the code for the default calendar entry is 

${order.product} ${order.ordercode} ${customer.name}

Say for example that you want to change the calendar to show order status followed by customer name and customer phone, the code will be

${order.orderstatus} ${customer.name} ${customer.phone}

The full list of variables are shown at the end of this article.

When you are ready to modify your templates:

  • Go to Settings - Orders - Calendar
  • Under Calendar Templates include the codes that you want to show and in the order you want to show it.
  • You can include additional text and punctuation as needed, as shown below in the Calendar Popup section.
  • For Calendar Popups, you can make bold text by adding two stars before and two stars after. For example **${order.balacestatus}**

Calendar Templates - Pop Up Text.png

Calendar details can be customized for rental products. Tour/activity product details will be customizable at a later point in time.

What are Variables?

Variable Keywords are code that can be used to pull from details of an order. They work to help you customize what is important details to use. These keywords can be used on the Calendar as well as Emails and Print Templates.

Keywords must use the following syntax: Start with  ${ (dollar sign and open curly bracket) and end with } (close curly bracket). These are important as it is how the system knows which detail to add to the calendar entry.

Example: ${customer.name} = Customer Full Name

See the table below for all the keywords that you can use for calendar customization.

 

Customer Keyword
Customer Full Name ${customer.name}
Customer First Name ${customer.firstname}
Customer Last Name ${customer.lastname}
Customer Phone ${customer.phone}
Customer Email ${customer.email}

 

Orders Keyword
Order Code ${order.ordercode}

Order Status

${order.orderstatus}
Order (Purchase) Date/Time ${order.orderdatetime}
Product Name ${order.product}
Resource(s) Name ${order.resources}
Rental/Activity Start Date/Time ${order.startat}
Rental/Activity End Date/Time ${order.endat}
Rental/Activity Start and End Date/Time ${order.startatendat}
Rental/Activity Start and End Date/Time w/buffers ${order.resourcesstartatendat}

Order Subtotal

${order.subtotalamount}
Order Taxes and Fees ${order.taxesandfeesamount}
Order Total Amount ${order.totalamount}
Order Deposit Amount ${order.depositamount}
Order Paid Amount ${order.paidamount}
Order Balance Amount ${order.balanceamount}
Order Balance Status ${order.balancestatus}
Office Notes ${order.officenotes}
Pick Up Delivery Location ${order.pickuplocation}
Drop Off Delivery Location

${order.dropofflocation}

*Custom Fields

${order.customfieldname}

*The Custom Field keyword uses the custom field name without spaces or special characters. Ex. A custom field name, "How many passengers?" will be ${order.howmanypassengers}.

Was this article helpful?

2 out of 2 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request